Topic/Area: Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts & Maths

Date released: Annual Irish Competition started 2012 (International Bebras challenge started in Lithuania in 2004)

Type of Best Practices

  • Online Tools
  • Applications or
  • Platform

Partners / network

Irish Computer Society, Ireland (as part of the wider Bebras Community)

Description of the methods/ approach

Computational thinking involves using a set of problem-solving skills and techniques that software engineers use to write programs and apps. The Bebras challenge promotes problem solving skills and Informatics concepts including the ability to break down complex tasks into simpler components, algorithm design, pattern recognition, pattern generalisation and abstraction.

The second week of November is declared as World-Wide BEBRAS week for solving tasks. Some countries extended it to two weeks. Many countries run all-year-round Bebras activities like participants awarding events, second round of the challenge, summer campus, teacher workshops, collecting statistics and writing research papers.

The Bebras challenges are made of a set of short problems called Bebras tasks and are delivered online. The tasks are fun, engaging and based on problems that computer scientists often meet and enjoy solving. The tasks can be solved without prior knowledge but instead require logical thinking. The aim is to solve as many as you can in the allotted time.


Bebras is an international initiative aiming to promote Informatics (Computer Science, or Computing) and computational thinking among school students at all ages. Participants are usually supervised by teachers who may integrate the Bebras challenge in their teaching activities. The challenge is performed at schools using computers or mobile devices.

We emphasise participation but also recognise top performing students. All countries provide different types of certificates available to students in each age group, for example, Certificate of Participation, Certification of Merit, Certificate of Distinction etc.

Evaluation (results) of its effectiveness (if applicable)


Overview of the lessons learned which are relevant to the project

The questions are in the form of engaging puzzles that start off relatively easy so every student can have a go and should get something out of the competition.

There are 5 categories with different levels of difficulties:

  • Primary - Class 3rd and 4th (8-10 years old)
  • Primary – Class 5th and 6th (10-12 years old)
  • Secondary – 1st and 2nd Year (12-14 years old)
  • Secondary – 3rd and 4th Year (14-16 years old)
  • Secondary – 5th and 6th Year (16-18 years old)

The problems come in three levels of difficulty: Easy, Medium and Hard. Each level of difficulty consists of 5 questions.

References/ online sources

Bebras Community

inner inner-partners